Spring update / MAJ de Printemps

Snowdrop / Perce-Neige / Sněženka

In here, we’re not the first ones to get Spring, and wild asparagus sprouting on sidewalks. But still, it’s not Siberia either. Early march, already, the first snowdrops were coming out of the ground.

Ici, on n’est pas les premiers à avoir le Printemps, ni les asperges sauvages qui jaillissent au bord des chemins. Enfin quand même, c’est pas la Sibérie non plus. Début mars, déjà, les premiers perce-neiges sortaient du sol.

Snowdrop / Perce-Neige / Sněženka Snowdrop / Perce-Neige / Sněženka

Mid-march, the garden’s bulbs were starting to grow as well. Even though at the time, I’d have been pretty much unable to tell what was going to grow from each. Curse my lack of botanical culture! I mean, I know what a tulip and a rose look like. But I wouldn’t be able to tell most of the flowers one can see everyday…

Mi-mars, les bulbes du jardins commençaient à pousser aussi. Même si sur le coup, j’eus été bien incapable de dire ce qui allait sortir de terre. Maudit manque de culture botanique! J’veux dire, je sais reconnaître une tulipe et une rose. Mais la plupart des fleurs du quotidien, je ne les connais point…

Hyacinth/Hyacint/Jacinthe, Spring is almost thereNarcissus / Jonquille

7 replies to “Spring update / MAJ de Printemps

  1. So lovely, the spring flowers….hyacinth, followed by yellow crocuses! Snow drops at the top….at least that’s the Toronto name for them…..Gonna get your hands dirty and do some gardening?

    Like

  2. Those were yellow Narcissus… I’ve got proof from a few weeks later 😉(Yup, crocuses, apparently. Looks like I got confused with the flowers I took in picture 🙂 ). Not sure I’ll get my hands dirty with the gardening. Maybe a bit, at least if I want to have some rhubarb to make some cakes 🙂

    Like

  3. C’est toujours émouvant je trouve, ces premières pousses qui sortent de terre…

    Like

    1. Oui, j’aime beaucoup. J’ai toujours été fasciné aussi par les vidéos qui montrent la pousse en accéléré (peut-être parce que j’ai jamais réussi à faire quoi que ce soit d’approchant 😉 )

      Like

  4. C’est pas des narcisses, c’est des crocus 🙂 Et cet qui n’a pas encore de fleur c’est un jacinthe. Derrière, on dirait bien des jonquilles (jaunes) ou des narcisses (blancs), effectivement 🙂 Trop de chance!

    Like

    1. Diantre! Me serais-je donc trompé de pied lorsque j’ai repris la photo suivante une fois que tout était sorti? Mortecouille!

      Like

Comments are closed.

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star