Weekly photo challenge: Pattern

For this week’s challenge the theme is Pattern.

Le thème de la semaine est Pattern (motif).

Weekly Photo Challenge #19: Pattern

Weekly Photo Challenge #19: Pattern (1/80s, ƒ/4, ISO 160, 10.3 mm)

I took this picture a couple of years back. I didn’t have my DSLR yet. Walking around the village, during Spring, and a villager had sunflowers. I’m not going to go into a detailed explanation about the Golden Ratio and how sunflower seeds are organized, I’m sure you already know the drill. And if you don’t, go check this page out, it’s fun and educational🙂. I like the pattern that the sunflower seeds make. But what caught my eye at the time was the lonely ant walking on its petals. Liked it so much, I took out the camera, and snapped. No time for proper composing, for getting interferences out of the frame, the little ant would already be long gone by the time I can organise a proper photoshoot. That’s why you see a bit of mesh in the corner, that’s why you don’t see all the sunflower. It was one of those time when you see something that is unlikely to happen again any time soon, and you just have to snap a pic.

J’ai pris cette photo il y a quelques années. Je n’avais pas encore mon réflex, c’est dire. En me promenant autour du village, au Printemps, et un villageois avait des tournesols. Je ne vais pas vous faire le topo sur le nombre d’or et l’organisation des graines de tournesol, je suis sûr que vous savez déjà tout. Sinon, allez lire cette page, c’est chouette et éducatif🙂. J’aime le motif que forment les graines de tournesol. Mais ce qui a capté mon attention sur le coup c’était cette fourmi solitaire déambulant sur ses pétales. Elle m’a tellement plu, j’ai dégainé mon appareil, pris une photo. Pas le temps de cadrer correctement, de virer les trucs qui gênent, la petite fourmi se serait déjà faite la malle depuis un bail, le temps que j’organise une séance photo digne de ce nom. C’est pour ça qu’on voit un bout de grillage, c’est pour ça qu’on ne voit pas tout le tournesol. C’était un de ces moments où vous voyez un truc qui ne risque pas de se reproduire de sitôt, et il faut que vous capturiez l’instant coûte que coûte.

21 thoughts on “Weekly photo challenge: Pattern

  1. do you always carry a camera? Not complaining here….well worth it! Do you have a little bitty one you carry for just grabbing a quick snapshot or always the big one?

    Like

    • I used to always carry the compact when I had one. I almost always take the DSLR with me, except when it gets me frowns and sighs from the wife :p. I have been thinking about getting a compact for when I climb, something that I wouldn’t risk smashing if I fell while climbing…

      Like

  2. Cette fleur à un coeur effectivement fascinant. Quant à la fourmi, tu voulais ajouter une suite au cycle des fourmis de Jacques Werber ?
    Elle est trop mignonne et qui sait ce qu’elle devait faire comme travail ? Une belle photo macro.🙂

    Like

  3. Kikou Fifty, je l’aime biencette photo, en la voyant je me suis dit que vraiment, la nature était d’une perfection…. Tout est parfaitement symétrique au coeur même d’une chose aussi minuscule c’est assez impressionnant… Quand à la fourmi, sympathique détail.🙂

    Like

Insert nice comment here :) / Par ici les gentils commentaires :)

