Emil Viklický & Steve Houben Trio @ The Music Village

Some of my trips to Brussels were short and uneventful. Some were not so short and not so uneventful (Thanks, captain obvious)…

Certains de mes voyages à Bruxelles furent courts et sans évènements. D’autres n’étaient pas si courts et pas si dénués d’évènements (Merci seigneur de La Palice)…

Steve Houben

When I had to travel to Brussels for two weeks last November, I took advantage of it, big time. Concerts, Convention, Museums… A Frolleague of mine (it’s a colleague who’s also a friend, or a friend who’s also a colleague, you choose) wanted to go to some concerts. And as I was browsing the Intartubes for something interesting, I discovered that a famous Czech Jazzman was going to play with one of his belgian friends’ trio.

Quand j’ai dû voyager à Bruxelles pour deux semaines en novembre dernier, j’en ai bien profité. Concerts, convention, musées… Une amègue (c’est une collègue qui est aussi une amie, ou une amie qui est aussi une collègue, au choix) voulait aller à des concerts. Et alors que je foirfouillait sur les Intertubes pour un truc intéressant, j’ai découvert qu’un jazzman célèbre allait jouer avec le trio d’un de ses amis belges.

Bösendorfer

I booked a table at the Music Village, for the concert, and I was not disappointed. While the artists and staff were preparing the stage, I was preparing my camera. From where I stood, which lens could I use? Which aperture? ISO? Shutter speed?

J’ai réservé une table au Music Village, pour le concert, et je ne fus pas déçu. Alors qu’artistes et personnel préparaient la scène, je préparais mon appareil. De là où j’étais, quel objectif utiliser? Quelle ouverture? ISO? Obturation?

Emil Viklický warming upThe stageContrebasse

Well, I was definitely not on the front row. The lighting made me want to take the EF 50mm (for its f/1.8 aperture), but I was too far from the stage to be able to use it (or I would have to do a lot of cropping in post-processing). In the end, the cat zoom (EF-S 55-250mm) gave me amazingly good results🙂.

Bon, j’étais pas du tout au premier rang. La lumière me disait de prendre mon EF 50mm (pour son ouverture de f/1.8), mais j’étais trop loin de la scène pour pouvoir l’utiliser (ou alors il aurait fallu faire pas mal de recadrage en post-prod). Au final, le zoom à chat (EF-S 55-250mm) a donné d’étonamment bons résultats🙂.

Flying Fingers

So, without further ado, Emil Viklický (piano) and the Steve Houben trio:

Donc, sans plus attendre, Emil Viklický (piano) et le Steve Houben trio:

Emil ViklickýSteve HoubenAntoine PierreJean-Louis Rassinfosse

It’s funny, because I don’t own much Jazz music in my CD collection. But for a live concert, it’s just great🙂.

C’est marrant, parce que je ne possède pas vraiment de Jazz dans ma CD-thèque. Mais pour un concert, c’est le pied🙂.

Jean-Louis RassinfosseSteve HoubenAntoine PierreSteve Houben

I know of none of the musicians when I arrived, but they were all amazing. The drummer, Antoine Pierre, was not even twenty years old, but one could say “the Force is strong with this one”.

Je ne connaissais aucun des musiciens en arrivant, mais ils étaient tous époustouflants. Le batteur, Antoine Pierre, n’avait même pas la vingtaine, mais on peut dire que “the Force is strong with this one”.

Antoine PierreAntoine Pierre

Emil Viklický also played a variation on a traditional Czech song (that I shamefully didn’t know about)…

Emil Viklický a aussi joué une variation sur un air traditionnel tchèque (que je ne connaissais honteusement pas)…

Emil Viklický

So I don’t know exactly if it was because of the great wine list, the good company, or the musicians’ talent, but the show was over way too fast in my opinion…

Donc je ne sais pas exactement si c’est la carte des vins, la compagnie, ou le talent des musiciens, mais le concert s’est terminé bien trop tôt à mon avis…

Emil Viklický + Steve Houben TrioSteve Houben

After the concert, I dared tried to chat a bit with Emil Viklický (I did take dozens of pictures during the concert, least I could do is make them available afterwards🙂 ).

Après le concert, j’ai osé tenter de discuter un peu avec Emil Viklický (j’ai pris des douzaines de photos pendant le concert, le moins que je puisse faire c’est de les lui mettre à disposition après🙂 ).

The Music Village,
Rue des Pierres 50
1000, Brussels

Emil Viklický (piano), Steve Houben (sax/flute – saxo/flûte traversière), Jean-Louis Rassinfosse (Contrabass – Contrebasse), Antoine Pierre (Drums – Batterie)

All pictures here

Toutes les photos ici

3 thoughts on “Emil Viklický & Steve Houben Trio @ The Music Village

  1. Marrant la flûte traversière dans un truc de jazz! Très jolies photos, ça donne vraiment envie d’y avoir été avec toi🙂 Contente que tous les voyages ne soient pas pourris…

    Like

Insert nice comment here :) / Par ici les gentils commentaires :)

