Aux urnes, citoyens!

It’s going to be my first time voting in person for elections as an expatriate. Because when I lived in Canada, I gave power of attorney to my mother for any election that would occur while I was there. So now, I was a bit worried because I didn’t receive my voter’s card yet. Nor did I receive the official candidates’ programs. I received lots of spam from them by email, to my surprise, but not the official programs that should be sent by the Embassy. And now, on Wednesday, finally, a letter from the French Embassy.

Ça va être la première fois que je vote en personne aux élections en tant qu’expatrié. Parce que quand j’habitais au Canada, j’avais donné procuration à ma mère pour toutes les élections qui auraient lieu pendant que j’habitais là-bas. Donc là, j’étais un peu inquiet parce que je n’avais pas encore reçu ma carte d’électeur. Pas plus que les programmes officiels des candidat(e)s. J’ai reçu plein de spam de leur part par email, à ma grande surprise, mais pas de programmes officiels envoyés par l’ambassade. Et là, mercredi, j’ai enfin reçu une lettre de l’Ambassade de France.

Courrier de l'ambassade avant les présidentielles 2012

And in it, the programs, and ballots, opening hours and papers I need to bring so that I can cast my vote.

Et dedans, programmes, bulletins, horaires d’ouverture et papiers à apporter pour pouvoir voter.

Project 52 2012 #16: Aux urnes, citoyens!

So I’ll be going, on Sunday, to the Buquoy Palace, to cast my vote🙂. Now, you know I don’t like to talk politics, nor will I take any side (although by reading me, most can easily guess the values I believe in, and therefore which candidate or party best represents them). However, I’d like to remind all my French readers to go cast their votes. Express yourselves! I’ve already written why I think it’s important, and as I like to say: You’re not allowed to bitch if you didn’t cast your vote. I’ll be happy to vote, even if nobody is making me very enthusiastic. If my candidate isn’t elected, I’ll be able to say “at least I didn’t vote for him/her” when the winner starts being hated for being a bad president. And if my candidate is elected, I’ll be able to whine that I’ve been lied once again when the winner turns to be a disappointment…

Je vais donc aller, ce dimanche, au Palais Buquoy, pour vote🙂. Maintenant, vous savez que je n’aime pas parler politique, ni que je vais prendre parti ici (quoiqu’en me lisant, la plupart peuvent facilement deviner les valeurs en lesquelles je crois, et donc quel candidat ou candidate les représente le mieux). Cependant, j’aimerais rappeller mon lectorat Français d’aller voter. Exprimez-vous! J’ai déjà raconté pourquoi je pense que c’est important, et comme j’aime à le dire: Pas le droit de râler tant que vous n’avez pas voté. Je serai content d’aller voter, même si personne ne m’enthousiasme vraiment. Si mon ou ma candidat(e) n’est pas élu, je pourrai dire “au moins j’ai pas voté pour lui/elle” une fois que le ou la gagnant(e) commencera à se faire détester parce qu’il ou elle est un(e) mauvais(e) président(e). Et si mon candidat est élu, je pourrai me plaindre qu’on m’ait encore menti une fois que le ou la gagnant(e) s’avérera décevant(e)…

4 thoughts on “Aux urnes, citoyens!

  1. Something we have yet to work out well. I haven’t voted in 9 years or more and it makes me CRAZY!!!! I am supposed to be able to vote here municipally, but that has never actually worked…….

    VOTE! I totally agree.

    Like

    • Can’t you vote for the Canadian elections? Or leaving the country strips you off your basic civic rights as a Canadian citizen? I don’t know about local elections here, have not been contacted yet, so it’s probably not possible for “my kind of people”…

      Like

Insert nice comment here :) / Par ici les gentils commentaires :)

