The tourist routine, take two / Le circuit du touriste, deuxième

(As usual, click on the pictures to see a bigger version on flickr)

(Comme d’habitude, on clique sur les images pour aller les voir en plus grand sur flickr)

For my second attempt at figuring out what can be done in one morning walking through Prague, I decided I should visit Prague Castle. I also decided to wander around a bit off the beaten path on my way there, rather than going straight to it. Still around Václavské naměstí (Wenceslas square), instead of going straight to the square I noticed a small church in the opposite direction: Kostel svatého Štěpána (Church of St Stephen).

Pour ma deuxième tentative de détermination de l’itinéraire possible d’un touriste à Prague en une matinée, j’ai décidé d’aller visiter le château de Prague. J’ai aussi décidé de papillonner un peu plutôt que d’y aller directement. Toujours aux alentours de Václavské naměstí (place St Venceslas), au lieu d’aller tout droit vers la place, j’ai remarqué une petite église dans la direction opposée: Kostel svatého Štěpána (église St Stéphane).

Kostel svatého Štěpána (Church of St Stephen)

While I was heading back to Wenceslas square, turning my head I see at the end of a small street an intriguing building… One of the advantages of not knowing the streets and buildings so well, you keep rediscovering them. Turns out this one was the Novoměstská radnice (New Town Hall).

Me dirigeant à nouveau vers la place St Venceslas, je tourne la tête et au bout d’une petite rue j’aperçois un vieux bâtiment qui m’intrigue… Un des avantages de pas connaître toutes les rues et bâtiments trop bien, c’est qu’on les redécouvre souvent. Là c’était la Novoměstská radnice (mairie de la Nouvelle Ville).

Novomestská radnice (New Town Hall)

Then, still on my way back to Wenceslas square, an elementary school, where I think most students there should consider themselves lucky just to go everyday in a building like that…

Puis, toujours en chemin vers le square St Venceslas, une école élémentaire (mix primaire/collège), où je crois que la plupart des élèves devraient s’estimer chanceux de pouvoir aller tous les jours étudier dans une baraque pareille…

Základní Škola Vodičkova (Elementary School on Vodičkova)

Then, across U Nováků, a small gallery felt inviting.

Puis, en face d’U Nováků, un petit passage m’a tenté.

U Nováků

An old stained glass commercial for Tesla there caught my eye,

Un vieux vitrail publicitaire pour Tesla avait attiré mon attention,

Tesla Radio stained glass

and the gallery led directly to a small garden called the Františkánská zahrada, of which I like the gates very much.

Et le passage menait directement sur un petit jardin, le Františkánská zahrada, dont j’aime beaucoup les portes.

Gates of the Františkánská zahradaGates of the Františkánská zahrada

And after this little detour, I was back to the big square, and recognized the familiar big Koruna center

Et après ce petit détour, j’étais de retour sur la grande place, et ai reconnu le Koruna center

Koruna CenterKoruna Center

and the peculiar statues at the Adam pharmacy.

et les statues un peu particulières de la pharmacie Adam.

Adamova Lékárna

Here, I wonder what the beehive is supposed to represent…

Là, je me demande ce que la ruche est censée représenter…

Prague Inn Hotel

A nice change from the usual souvenir shops, a small toy store had a toy train running.

Un agréable changement par rapport aux magasins de souvenirs habituels, une petite boutique de jouets avait mis en vitrine un petit train.

Wooden train

And in true Prague fashion, this Italian restaurant was named after its house signs.

Et en mode Pragois, ce restaurant italien s’était nommé d’après la déco de la maison.

Le Cinque Corone

To get to the Prague Castle, the most direct way goes through the Old Town Square again (The stalls there were for a wine festival about to open).

Pour aller au château de Prague, la voie la plus directe passe par la Place de la Vieille Ville (Les stands là étaient pour une foire aux vins sur le point de commencer).

OrlojOrlojdům u kamenného zvonu (House of the stone bell) and Týnský chrám (Church of our Lady before Týn), on the Staroměstské náměstí (Old Town Square)

Then, you have to cross the Vltava. The Prague Castle area, Hradčany, is so large that depending on which entrance you want to go through, you could go through Karlův most (Charles bridge) or through Mánesův most, the distance would be the same. Since it was not so cold, I assumed the “touristy route” through Charles Bridge and up Nerudova street would probably be a bit crowded by now, so I went through Mánesův most again, and got greeted by a tram,

Ensuite, il faut traverser la Vltava. La zone du château de Prague, Hradčany, est si grande que selon l’entrée que vous choisissez, vous pouvez passer par Karlův most (le pont Charles) ou par le Mánesův most, la distance est la même. Vu qu’il ne faisait pas trop froid, je me suis dit que la “route touristique” par le pont Charles et la rue Nerudova serait peut-être un peu peuplée à cette heure, donc je suis passé par le Mánesův most à nouveau, et y ai croisé un tramway,

Tramway on the Mánesův most

took a peek at Charles bridge to see if I’d avoided a crowd or not

ai jeté un œil au pont Charles pour voir si j’avais évité une grosse foule ou pas

Karlův most (Charles bridge)

and looked up at Hradčany, wondering how long it would take me to get there by foot.

et ai jaugé Hradčany, me demandant combien de temps il allait me falloir pour l’atteindre à pied.

HradčanyHradčany

Right after crossing the bridge, a small geology lesson was offering itself to those who look away from the buildings, a bit.

Pile après le pont, une petite leçon de géologie s’offre à qui se détourne des immeubles, un peu.

Strates

Walking up, I turned around at some point to look how far I’d walked and enjoy a bit of “Prague from above”. I recognized St Nicholas church, above the red rooftops of Malá Strana,

Durant l’ascension, je me suis retourné pour voir le chemin parcouru et profiter un peu de “Prague vue d’en haut”. J’ai reconnu l’église Saint Nicolas, au dessus des toits rouges de Malá Strana,

Saint Nicolas church and the rooftops of Malá Strana

as well as Charles Bridge, the Old Town, and the outline of a palace with something weird there…

ainsi que le pont Charles, la Vieille Ville, et les contours d’un palais avec un truc bizarre dedans…

Old Town and Valdštejnský palác (Wallenstein palace)Valdštejnský palác (Wallenstein palace)

Turns out this is the Valdštejnský palác (Wallenstein palace). I wanted to find a way to get there, but the entrance was either well hidden, poorly indicated, or undergoing renovations… Anyways, after a few more minutes of walking, not stopping for mulled wine on the way (zero alcohol policy in Czech Republic, and I was driving. The smell was very tempting though…) I reached the bottom of the Prague Castle complex. Many palaces, several churches (more on that later), and even a toy museum.

Il s’avère que c’est le Valdštejnský palác (palais Wallenstein). Je voulais y accéder, mais l’entrée était soit trop bien cachée, mal indiquée, ou en travaux… Enfin bon, après quelques minutes de marche supplémentaires, sans m’arrêter pour un verre de vin chaud (tolérance zéro en République Tchèque, et je conduisais. Mais l’odeur était bien tentante…) je suis arrivé au bas du complexe du château de Prague. De nombreux palais, plusieurs églises (j’y reviendraià, et même un musée de jouets.

HradčanySt Vitus CathedralToy Museum

Since I had some time before me, I wanted to buy tickets to take a small tour of the complex. I usually always thought “I live here, I can do that whenever I want”, but when you think like that you never visit anything, so I thought it was time to act.The crowd was moderate, you don’t have so many visitors during Winter. On the side of the Basilica of St George, one could witness his dragonslaying abilities.

Vu que j’avais du temps, j’ai voulu acheter des tickets pour une petite visite du complexe. Je suis du genre à me dire “j’habite là, je peux le faire quand je veux”, mais dans ces cas-là on ne visite jamais rien, donc j’me suis dis qu’il était temps d’agir. La foule était modérée, il n’y a pas trop trop de monde en hiver. Sur le côté de la basilique St George, on pouvait voir ses aptitudes à pourfendre le dragon.

Saint George killing the dragon

Then again, between St Vitus Cathedral and the New Royal Palace.

Puis encore une fois entre la Cathédrale St Guy et le Nouveau Palais Royal.

St George

Speaking of crowds, I saw a japanese school trip, in the middle of organizing some souvenir group photoshoots.

Parlant de foule, j’ai vu un groupe de japonais en voyage scolaire, en pleine organisation de photos de groupe souvenir.

Japanese school trip

I hoped the photograph would have an ultra-wide angle lens on his camera, because my old point & shoot camera never managed to take St Vitus in one shot from within Hradčany… This one had to be patched up from 3 or 4 shots, for example.

J’espère que le photographe avait un objectif super grand angle sur son appareil, parce que mon vieux compact n’a jamais réussi à prendre la cathédrale St Guy en un seul coup depuis l’intérieur de Hradčany… Celle-ci a dû être recollée avec 3 ou 4 prises, par exemple.

St Vitus Cathedral

I went to take my ticket for a “small tour”, including St Vitus Cathedral, the St George Basilica, the Old Royal Palace, and the Rosenberg Palace. I also decided to purchase a photography ticket. Here, photographs are not always forbidden. Things usually range from “forbidden” to “allowed”, with the “allowed if you ask nicely and get a photographer pass” in between. I think it’s a good thing, because without this option, it’s likely that the pictures would be either totally forbidden, or “included in the price” and the ticket price would be higher, even for those without a camera.

Je suis allé prendre mon billet pour une “petite visite”, avec la Cathédrale St Guy, la basilique St George, le Vieux Palais Royal, et le Palais Rosenberg. J’ai aussi décidé de prendre un billet “photo”. Ici, les photos ne sont pas toujours interdites. Ça varie, entre le “interdit” et “autorisé”, avec “autorisé si vous demandez gentiment et prenez un passe photo” entre les deux. Je trouve ça bien, parce que sans ça, il est probable que les photos soient ou bien complètement interdites, ou bien “inclus dans le prix du billet” avec un prix du billet plus élevé, même pour les non-porteurs d’appareil photo.

New Royal Palace

To be continued…

À suivre…

7 thoughts on “The tourist routine, take two / Le circuit du touriste, deuxième

  1. I don’t even know where to start! The stained glass is beautiful. The man and I went into BCN at night the other day, and discovered some beautiful stained glass in some of the buildings that we had been past a thousand times and never noticed. And that weird grey building amongst all those red roofs…can you go back there????

    Like

    • Prague has lots of stained glass from the 20th century. It apparently was all the rage at some point in time🙂. For the Wallenstein palace, I didn’t manage to get there that day. I managed months later, not sure what I managed to snap… I’ll see. Otherwise, I’ll have to go there again with my “new” camera😉

      Like

Insert nice comment here :) / Par ici les gentils commentaires :)

