I shot a pheasant! / J’ai pris un faisan!

… in picture, I mean. What were you thinking?😀

… en photo, j’veux dire. Vous croyiez quoi?😀

Pheasants hiding behind the village's cemeteryOne thing I like very much here, is seeing game, and fauna other than pigeons, crows, and flat things on the road. I was crazy about all the squirrels in Toronto, and was really happy when I caught glimpse of a beaver on the waterfront.

Un truc que j’aime beaucoup, ici, c’est de voir du gibier, une faune autre que des pigeons, des corbaux et des trucs aplatis sur la route. J’étais fou des écureuils à Toronto, et j’étais super content quand j’ai aperçu un castor sur le front de lac.

Here, on the outskirts of the village, I very often will see pheasants. Between the railway and the main road, for example. Problem is, they’re very shy. Try to approach them, and they’re going to run away rather fast…

Ici, aux abords du village, je vois très souvent des faisans. Entre la voie ferrée et la nationale, par exemple. Le problème, c’est qu’ils sont très timides. Essayez de les approcher, et ils vont juste s’enfuir assez rapidement…

Pheasants hiding behind the village's cemetery

But last Sunday, while taking a walk around, it looks like a family had decided to settle down next to the cemetery. Good thing I had my cat zoom with me! Because don’t be fooled by the size of that pheasant. He may be big and fat, he did make a run for it as soon as I got too close.

Mais dimanche dernier, en me promenant, on dirait qu’une famille s’est installée près du cimetière. Heureusement que j’avais mon zoom à chat avec moi! Parce que ne vous fiez pas aux apparence. C’est peut-être un gros faisan bien gras, là, mais il s’est carapaté dès que je me suis rapproché un peu trop.

Pheasants hiding behind the village's cemetery

8 thoughts on “I shot a pheasant! / J’ai pris un faisan!

  1. Pheasant’s here come in stupider than that. The hunters release them for something to shoot at and they must breed them dumb. The man was in the woods one time, with hunters around and a pheasant was right near the path, he tried to scare it away and it pretty much just stared at him vacantly. He eventually had to go right up to it to chase it further into safety. They could do with lessons.

    Like

  2. Nice pictures, bravo! Ici, dans mon quartier et au bord de la rivière, on voit des tas de lapins (qui changent de couleur avec les saisons, c’est superbe!) et des loups, des coyotes, des biches… et des pies… ce qui est moins exotique que des faisans je suis bien d’accord…

    Like

Insert nice comment here :) / Par ici les gentils commentaires :)

