The Good King Wenceslas

On December 18th in the morning, Václav Havel, first president of the Czech Republic, passed away. I already talked about him a bit before. And I have to admit I don’t know about him as much as I would like. He ended the communist regime through peaceful protest, the Velvet Revolution. As an intellectual, he differed greatly from the usual politicians you can have. And from the little I know about him, I’d trade my president anytime for anyone even half as good as Havel seems to have been.

Le 18 décembre au matin, Václav Havel, premier président de la République Tchèque, est décédé. J’ai déjà parlé un peu de lui auparavant. Et je dois admettre que je ne connais pas son histoire autant que je le voudrais. Il a mis fin au régime communiste à travers des manifestations pacifiques, la Révolution de Velours. Intellectuel, il différait grandement des politiciens habituel. Et du peu que je connais de lui, j’échange mon président n’importe quand contre quelqu’un ne serait-ce qu’à moitié aussi bon qu’Havel semble avoir été.

A crowd have gathered on Wenceslas Square to pay their respects (link in Czech, but the pictures are eloquent), and it is obviously making all the headlines here. I never liked History classes in school, and always forgot pretty fast whatever the teachers attempted to put into my brain. Sometimes, I regret forgetting. Maybe this time I’ll remember, it’s the last Sunday of Advent after all, should be easy to remember…

La foule s’est rassemblée sur la Place St Wenceslas pour lui rendre hommage (lien en tchèque, mais les images parlent d’elles-même), et ça fait bien évidemment toutes les unes ici. Je n’ai jamais aimé les cours d’histoire, et ai toujours oublié assez vite ce que les profs tentaient de me faire ingurgiter. Parfois, je regrette d’avoir oublié. Peut-être que cette fois-ci je me souviendrai, c’est le dernier Dimanche de l’Avent, ça devrait être facile à retenir…

Last Sunday before Christmas

R.I.P pan Havel

2 thoughts on “The Good King Wenceslas

Insert nice comment here :) / Par ici les gentils commentaires :)

