Stop and smell the snow balls / Prenons le temps de souffler dans la neige

If there’s one thing that living in Paris, and then in Toronto, have taught me, it’s patience. Repeated delays in the public transit, repeated delays in flights during winter… I figured I’ll always arrive at my destination, eventually. And believe it or not, I do. I got delayed several times while waiting for a flight to or from Toronto, because of bad weather conditions. It’s never very pleasant to know you’ll be delayed on top of your jetlagged, but eh, I’d rather be delayed because the airport authority is waiting for the tarmac to be clear and the plane to be deiced one last time than have an accident.

S’il y a une chose que j’ai apprise en habitant à Paris, puis à Toronto, c’est la patience. Les retards à répétition dans les transports en commun, les retards à répétition pour les vols en hiver… J’ai réalisé que je finirai bien par arriver à destination, de toutes façons. Et croyez-le ou pas, c’est le cas. Je me suis déjà fait retarder plusieurs fois en attendant un vol vers ou depuis Toronto, à cause de mauvaises conditions météorologiques. Ce n’est jamais drôle de savoir qu’on va être retardés en plus du décalage horaire, mais bon, mieux vaut être en retard parce que l’autorité aéroportuaire veut attendre que le tarmac soit dégagé et l’avion dégivré une dernière fois plutôt que d’avoir un accident.

Prague airport under the snow

Of course, some airports are better than others, when you have to wait. I’ll always remember when my plane that was supposed to stop in München ended up landing in Frankfuhrt, and my luggage to be lost/delayed, only to be delivered to me 7 days later. Out of a 10 days trip. Last week, I had a business trip to Brussels. 2 hours delay going there, 3 hours delay going back. If you are *not* looking for Bohemia crystal, take a good book with you, because you’ll pretty much get bored. Similarly, if you are diabetic and stuck in the Brussels airport, then I’m sorry for you, but with one chocolate shop every 20 meters, you’re gonna die from just walking around.

Bien sûr, certains aéroports sont mieux que d’autres, une fois que vous êtes coincés dedans. Je me souviendrai toujours quand mon avion qui devait faire escale à Munich a fini par atterrir à Francfort, et ma valise s’est retrouvée perdue/retardée, pour m’être restituée 7 jours plus tard. Sur un voyage de 10 jours. La semaine dernière, j’étais en voyage d’affaires à Bruxelles. 2 heures de retard à l’aller, 3 heures au retour. Si vous ne cherchez *pas* de cristal de Bohême, prévoyez un bon bouquin, sinon vous allez vous ennuyer. De même, si vous êtes diabétique et coincé à l’aéroport de Bruxelles, alors désolé, mais avec un magasin de pralines tous les 20 mètres, vous allez mourir rien qu’en vous baladant.

Chocolate store in Brussels Airport

And today, I’m going again to Brussels for another three days (I guess they must love me there, to call me back for an encore😉 ). Snow is falling hard outside, the plane already left with a one hour delay. It’s annoying and unpleasant for my company, we’re losing valuable time here. But I’ll get there eventually. I’ll just have to make the best use of the time I’ll be able to spend at the customer’s site…

Et aujourd’hui, je retourne à Bruxelles pour trois jours supplémentaires (je suppose qu’ils m’adorent, là-bas, pour me demander un rappel😉 ). La neige tombe drue dehors, l’avion est parti de Bruxelles avec déjà une heure de retard. C’est ennuyeux et gênant pour ma boîte, on perd un temps précieux, là. Mais je finirai bien par arriver. Je devrai juste gérer au mieux le temps passé chez le client…

6 thoughts on “Stop and smell the snow balls / Prenons le temps de souffler dans la neige

    • Actually, I’ve found out that Torontonians had some kind of sheep-like blasé resolve, which can be mistaken as patience. People will whine and mumble to themselves, and seldom take action anyways. In France, people will whine loudly, never mumble to themselves, and claim that this is unacceptable that the world would not yield to every single one of their requests. What I learned from all that time waiting, and witnessing other people’s behavior, was that it was pointless to get mad or be upset, and that patiently waiting would eventually get you where you need to be.

      Like

  1. I think the falling snow on your site is most appropriate with this post.

    Hope you got through the trip reasonably well, what book are you reading?

    Ummm, and sheep-like????? I think I am offended ;p

    Like

    • I was reading Kundera’s “Life is elsewhere”. Plane landed, eventually. Don’t be offended :p. But I noticed that people in Toronto are very bad at complaining out loud to the source of their complaints. They will easily complain about, for example, cell phone bills being so high, but will seldom call the customer care line to complain about such prices and threaten to leave. In turn, this can lead to lack of competition, and the assumption for businesses that whatever price they force onto end users is a price said users are willing to pay.

      Like

Insert nice comment here :) / Par ici les gentils commentaires :)

