Georgian Bay / Bay Géorgienne (4/4)

And here is the last post of my 2008 summer trip around the Georgian bay. After the Manitoulin Island, and if you look on the map, you’ll see that there aren’t many more places to go on the way back… And after a few hours of driving, right before entering Killarney Provincial Park, a fox decided to cross the road.

Et voici le dernier billet sur mon voyage d’été 2008 autour de la baie géorgienne. Après l’Île Manitoulin, et si vous regardez sur la carte, vous verrez qu’il n’y a pas tant d’endroits que ça à voir sur le chemin du retour… Et après quelques heures de route, juste avant d’entrer dans le Parc Provincial de Killarney, un renard a choisi de traverser la route.

Fox, on the way to Killarney Provincial Park

There are a few provincial parks between Manitoulin and Toronto, and if I chose Killarney, it’s because it was supposed to be a great spot for… learning Canoe! So after a good night’s sleep, let’s head over to George Lake for a canoe initiation.

Il y a peu de parcs provinciaux entre Manitoulin et Toronto, et si j’ai choisi Killarney, c’est parce que c’est censé être un coin super pour… apprendre le canoë! Donc après une bonne nuit de sommeil, direction George Lake pour une initiation au canoë.

Canoe lesson, George Lake

It’s not that I was afraid or anything, just that usually, on a boat, I’m looking at the scenery, not exactly working in the engine room. Last experience I had with operating a boat, it was just simple rowing in Central Park. So if I were to do paddle for the first time in my life, I wanted a teacher, and an easy spot. I wasn’t exactly planning to cross the bay by myself. The teacher was great, and while paddling, explained the color of the water, and the geological formations around George Lake.

C’est pas que j’avais peur, c’est juste que d’habitude, sur un bateau, je regarde le paysage, je suis pas en train de bosser dans la salle des machines. Ma dernière expérience de manœuvre d’embarcation, c’était un tour en barque à Central Park. Donc si je dois pagayer pour la première fois de ma vie, j’veux un prof, et un coin facile. J’envisageais pas vraiment de traverser la baie tout seul. La prof était super, et tout en pagayant, expliqua la raison de la couleur de l’eau, et les formations géologiques autour de George Lake.

Canoe lesson, George Lake

She even took the group to one of those “there’s no path for this on the map, but it’s ok, I’m a ranger” spots… So we left the canoes down below,

Elle nous a même emmené dans un de ces coins du type “y’a pas de chemin sur la carte, mais c’est pas grave, je suis une ranger”… Donc on a laissé les canoës derrière nous,

Canoe lesson, George Lake

we climbed up a little bit, careful not to trip over the chipmunks,

on a grimpé un brin, en faisant gaffe à pas trébucher sur les tamias,

Chipmunk

and enjoyed the view over George Lake…

et on a profité de la vue sur George Lake…

Canoe lesson, George Lake

On our way back, she showed us a very popular spot for swimming, asking whether we wanted to go swim. Unfortunately for me, I didn’t have my swimsuit, and I’m not the kind of guy to go to the “Clothes Optional” beaches of Toronto Islands. Oh, and I’m also shy in front of frogs.

Sur le chemin du retour, elle nous a montré un endroit super populaire pour nager, demandant si on voulait y aller. Malheureusement pour moi, je n’avais pas de maillot, et je suis pas le genre de gars qui va aux plages avec “vêtements facultatifs” des îles de Toronto. Ah, et je suis aussi super timide devant les grenouilles.

Frog, Canoe lesson, George Lake

All in all, the lesson lasted during all morning, so after a quick lunch, there was plenty of time left to do a small hike in the woods before going home. The Cranberry bog trail looked nice. If anyone can recognize this bird, I’d be happy to learn:

Au final, la leçon a duré toute la matinée, donc après un repas rapide, il restait plein de temps pour une petite randonnée dans les bois avant de rentrer. La Cranberry bog trail (Piste de la Tourbière aux Canneberges, ça sonne bien en français, je trouve) avait l’air sympa. Si quelqu’un reconnaît cet oiseau, je suis preneur:

Bird on the Cranberry Bog Trail

There were also some more chipmunks on there.

Il y avait aussi quelques tamias supplémentaires sur le chemin.

Chipmunk on the Cranberry Bog Trail

And although I knew what cranberries were, I didn’t know what ‘bog’ meant in English, and that cranberries grew in those.

Et même si je savais ce que c’était que des canneberges, je savais pas que ‘bog’ signifiait tourbière en anglais, et que c’était là qu’elles poussaient, les canneberges.

Cranberry Bog TrailCranberry Bog Trail

The trail is very nice, goes under the trees most of the time, so it’s not blazing hot, and it ends with a great view over George Lake… again😉.

La piste est très sympa, passe sous les arbres la plupart du temps, donc on crève pas de chaud, et se termine avec une superbe vue sur George Lake… encore😉.

Panorama of George Lake, Cranberry Bog Trail

I didn’t want to go back to Toronto. Hope you enjoyed the trip😉

Je voulais pas rentrer à Toronto. J’espère que le voyage vous a plu😉

11 thoughts on “Georgian Bay / Bay Géorgienne (4/4)

    • No, I actually am not joking. Living in a high-rise building, with no lawn, close to the lake, the only birds I met there were seagulls. And whenever I was out and about in High Park, there were cormorants, geese, ducks, Red-winged blackbirds, and one cardinal, but no Robins.

      So thanks for the input🙂.

      I enjoyed canoeing very much. I even did more after that, but I still have to sort out the pictures and write about them :p

      Like

Insert nice comment here :) / Par ici les gentils commentaires :)

