Build me a church if you’ve got nuttin’ else to do! / Bâtis moi une église si t’as rin d’meux à faire!

Every morning, going to work, I look at the street and the buildings from the window of the taxi. And every day, I notice chapels, here and there. Quite a few of them actually. But few of them at walking distance from the hotel. One, in particular, caught my attention, and I told myself I really should go there and check it out…

Tous les matins, en allant bosser, je regarde la rue et les immeubles depuis la fenêtre du taxi. Et chaque jour, je remarque des chapelles, ici et là. Un bon p’tit paquet, en fait. Mais peu sont accessible à pied depuis l’hôtel. Une, en particulier, a retenu mon attention, et je me suis dit que je devrais vraiment y aller faire un tour…

Small orthodox Chapel, Vinnitsa

And that’s what I did, eventually. Unfortunately, it was closed.

Et c’est ce que j’ai fini par faire. Malheureusement, c’était fermé.

Small orthodox Chapel, Vinnitsa

But unlike many buildings around here, churches and chapels are well maintained. I guess it’s a matter of faith, and seeing how beautiful it still is, I’m not complaining.

Mais contrairement à nombre de bâtisses des environs, églises et chapelles sont bien entretenues. Je suppose que c’est une question de foi, et vu comme ça reste joli, je me plains pas.

Front porch, Small orthodox chapel, Vinnitsa

Asking one colleague about the amount of churches and chapels that I seemed to see everywhere, his answer was quite simple: “Well, we have many religions and branches, here, and every branch have to have their own church, you know, like the russian orthodoxes, the ukrainian orthodoxes…”

Demandant à un collègue la raison d’une telle quantité d’églises et de chapelles que je croyais voir partout, sa réponse fut plutôt simple: “Ben, on a tellement de religions et de branches, ici, et chaque branche se doit d’avoir sa propre église, hein, comme les orthodoxes russes, les orthodoces ukrainiens…”

Makes sense😉

Logique😉

Insert nice comment here :) / Par ici les gentils commentaires :)

