Mixing up everything / Tout mélanger

Ukrainian and Russian are close to each other. The official language is Ukrainian, but people will primarily speak russian or ukrainian depending on their age and upbringing. They will understand both languages, but will always reply in their primary language.

L’ukrainien est proche du russe. La langue officielle en Ukraine c’est l’ukrainien, mais les gens vont parler principalement russe ou ukrainien en fonction de leur âge et de là où ils ont fait leurs scolarité. Ils comprendront les deux langages, mais répondront toujours dans leur langue primaire.

So, sometimes I will say something in, say, ukrainian, hoping to learn the standard response (still in Ukrainian) to the basic sentence I just used, but how can I know which language the person is using, considering the fact that I don’t know how to tell the difference?

Donc parfois, je vais dire un truc en, disons, ukrainien, espérant apprendre la réponse standard (toujours en Ukrainien) à la phrase simple que je viens d’utiliser, mais comment je sais en quoi la personne me parle, sachant que je suis infoutu de faire le distingo?

Add to that the fact that in order to remember words more easily, I try to remember them based on their czech translation, since Ukrainian bears resemblance to both Russian and Czech, remembering just the difference between the Czech and Ukrainian word.

Rajoutez à ça le fait que pour me souvenir des mots plus facilement, j’essaie de les retenir en fonction de leur traduction tchèque, vu que l’Ukrainien ressemble à la fois au Russe et au Tchèque, ne retenant que la différence entre les mots tchèques et ukrainiens.

So sometimes, when I’m speaking, in a same sentence, I will use Ukrainian, Russian, and Czech words, not exactly sure of what I’m saying, but hoping that the person I’m talking to will understand at least a little what I’m struggling to say.

Donc parfois, quand je parle, dans une même phrase, je vais mettre des mots ukrainiens, russes, et tchèques, pas vraiment sûr de ce que je raconte, mais espérant que la personne en face comprendra au moins un peu ce que je lutte pour dire.

Learning languages is fun. Trust me🙂.

Apprendre de nouvelles langues c’est l’éclate totale. Croyez-moi🙂

3 thoughts on “Mixing up everything / Tout mélanger

  1. Same same same!!!

    Catalan and Spanish! I used to not know which I was speaking most of the time, because the Catalans tend to speak to foreigners in Spanish even if said foreigner is doggedly trying to speak Catalan. I will spend my entire time here confused…and then there is the French I will throw into the pot sometimes if I am confused enough and that’s the word that arises.

    Glad to hear you’re still studying Czech

    Like

Insert nice comment here :) / Par ici les gentils commentaires :)

