Taxi ride from hell / La course en taxi de l’enfer

No matter where I go, I look like I’m not from the place. Really. In Toronto, my foreignness would somehow emanate from me, and swarms of illegal taxi drivers would come and try to pick me up at the airport for an illegal, overcharged taxi ride.

Peu importe où je vais, j’ai l’air de pas être du coin. Vraiment. À Toronto, mon étrangéritude émanait de moi je ne sais comment, et des volées de chauffeurs de taxi illégaux venait tenter de me pécho à l’aéroport pour une virée illégale et surchargée en taxi.

When I arrived in Київ (Kiev), same thing. After passing customs, even if I had a driver waiting for me already, a tall guy started to follow me. And then showed me some taxi driver card, asking “Taxi? Taxi?”. I said “no”. He said “english?”. I said “Нет (Niet)”. He said “Русский (Russkiy)?”. I wanted to say “fuck off, dumbass”, but my lack of being french president prevented me from quoting the Little N. At some point he gave up, one second before another one tried the same dance again.

En arrivant à Київ (Kiev), pareil. Après avoir passé la douane, même avec un chauffeur qui m’attendait, un grand gars commence à me suivre. Et là, il me montre un genre de carte de taxi, demandant “Taxi? Taxi?” Je dis “no”. Il dit “english?”. Je dis “Нет (Niet)”. Il dit “Русский (Rousskiy)?”. Je voulais dire “casse-toi pauv’ con”, mais mon manque de présidentitude de la république m’a empêché de citer le petit N. Il a fini par laisser tomber, une seconde avant qu’un autre ne tente la même danse.

Did I mention that all I wanted was an open exchange counter, and then find my driver, and get done with it? Oh well.

Ai-je précisé que tout ce que je cherchais c’était un bureau de change ouvert, et ensuite trouver mon chauffeur, et emballez c’est pesé? Bah.

One thought on “Taxi ride from hell / La course en taxi de l’enfer

Insert nice comment here :) / Par ici les gentils commentaires :)

