I always miss the good stuff / Je manque toujours les bons trucs

I don’t know why, but during those two years in Canada, I seem to have missed what people call “the Canadian Winter”. I mean, 2006-2007, not so bad, 2007-2008, when I went to see Niagara Falls hoping to see some ice, everything had melted already, and 2008-2009, when I left Canada, the lake Ontario was only frozen this much:

Je sais pas pourquoi, mais pendant ces deux ans au Canada, on dirait que j’ai loupé ce que les gens appellent “l’Hiver Canadien”. J’veux dire, 2006-2007, pas si pire, 2007-2008, quand je suis allé aux chutes du Niagara espérant voir un peu de glace, tout avait déjà fondu, et 2008-2009, quand j’ai quitté le Canada, le lac Ontario n’était qu’à ce point gelé :

Freezing lake Ontario

I’ve been told that since then, it’s gotten worse. Way worse. Still, I left before it happenned. So, according to my own experience, Canadian winter? Not that big a deal. Even though I know it’s gotten way worse since I left (and I’m a tad bit jealous, I wanted to experience it. Call me a masochist if you want). Weird, eh?

On me dit dans l’oreillette que depuis, ça a empiré. Beaucoup. Enfin quand même, je suis parti avant que cela n’arrive. Donc, d’après mon expérience personnelle, l’hiver canadien? Ça casse pas des briques. Même si je sais que ça a bien empiré depuis que je suis parti (et je suis un peu jaloux, je voulais vivre ça. Traitez-moi de maso si vous voulez). Bizarre, hein?

PS: I know that for 2008-2009, Toronto almost broke a historical record in terms of snowfalls, however it really didn’t feel like it, because it would not snow continuously, and the snow always had time to melt before it snowed again.

PS: Je sais que pour 2008-2009, Toronto a failli battre des records historiques en termes de chutes de neige, mais je ne l’ai vraiment pas ressenti, parce qu’il ne neigeait pas en continu, et la neige avait toujours le temps de fondre avant qu’il ne reneige.

4 thoughts on “I always miss the good stuff / Je manque toujours les bons trucs

  1. Morgane is correct, winter in TO is a lot different than winter anywhere else in Canada. It is (more or less) the same lat as N Calif. and with those big lakes…it just doesn’t get SO bad…Montreal however! I was in a snow storm in Quebec City that was amazing, and then if you get out on the praries…brrrrr, and in NFLD, there is never much snow accumulation, it just spends six months blowing around horizontally. UGh.

    Like

Insert nice comment here :) / Par ici les gentils commentaires :)

