Cards overdose / Overdose de cartes

When coming back to France, I remembered one thing. It’s about Canada. And cards. All kinds of cards. In France, my wallet was pretty large, and flat. Within a month in Canada, I already had gotten so many cards that it wouldn’t fit my wallet anymore. I had to buy a canadian wallet. Because everything comes in credit card format. The SIN card, the OHIP (Ontario health insurance) card, the driver’s license, all the membership cards… That’s another thing. For each and every shop out there, you have membership cards. You have one for the groceries, one for the drugstore, one for the bookstore, one for the hotel, all incompatible with each other, and all in credit card format.

En rentrant en France, je me suis souvenu d’une chose. C’est à propos du Canada. Et des cartes. Tous types de cartes. En France, mon portefeuille était assez grand, et plat. En un mois passé au Canada, j’avais déjà tellement de cartes que ça ne rentrait plus dans mon portefeuille. Fallait que j’achète un portefeuille canadien. Parce que tout arrive au format carte de crédit. La carte NAS, la carte OHIP (sécu de l’Ontario), le permis de conduire, les cartes de fidélité… C’est un autre truc, ça. Pour chaque magasin là-bas, il y a des cartes de fidélité. Il y en a une pour le supermarché, une pour la droguerie, une pour la librairie, une pour l’hotel, toutes incompatibles, et toutes au format carte de crédit.

I tried to resist the trend as much as I could. But it’s true. If you’re always buying things at the same places, why not take the membership cards and get some rewards with it? So I ended up with one card, and then another one… I have to admit, when I came back to France, I felt lighter when I finally could switch back to my old wallet.  Wanna see the difference between both? Just have a look:

J’ai essayé de résister à la tendance autant que j’ai pu. Mais c’est vrai. Si vous achetez des choses toujours au même endroit, pourquoi ne pas prendre la carte de fidélité et en tirer quelque chose? Donc je me suis retrouvé avec une carte, puis une autre… je dois avouer qu’en rentrant en France, je me suis senti plus léger quand j’ai pu repasser enfin à mon vieux portefeuille. Vous voulez- voir la différence? Regardez :

Canadian and French wallet

4 thoughts on “Cards overdose / Overdose de cartes

  1. oreneta: it IS an improvement, because they take a lot less space on your key chain (of course, if you have 20 of them…) than the big ones in your wallet. I had a gym membership card, here, and complained to the gym that it was too big and not practical (I had to take my wallet with me to the gym just to carry this stupid card) and asked them if they could make make me a key chain thingy… the lady just took her scissors and cut everything out on my card except for the code bar… and told me to punch a hole in what was left… I was watching her, speechless!

    My family in Europe always makes fun of my large wallet…

    Like

Insert nice comment here :) / Par ici les gentils commentaires :)

