Na Shledanou!

Na Shledanou is Czech for Goodbye. I thought the title would be appropriate for the entry related to my return trip to Toronto from Prague. Unfortunately for the my epic writing style, nothing bad happened during the flight. After having my luggage delayed during 7 days out of 10, I was rather expecting something really bad to happen to me. Like… I don’t know… Canadian Geese droppings on the windshield, this is one that I haven’t had so far.

Na Shledanou veut dire Au revoir en tchèque. Je me suis dit que le titre était approprié pour le billet lié à mon voyage retour à Toronto depuis Prague. Malheureusement pour mon style d’écriture épique, il ne s’est rien passé de mauvais pendant le vol. Après avoir récupéré ma valise avec un retard de 7 jours sur 10, je m’attendais à des trucs horribles… Genre… je sais pas… des fientes d’oies bernaches du Canada sur le cockpit, c’est un truc que j’ai encore jamais eu.

Oddly enough, the weather was completely clear, flying in the afternoon, westward, I was really lucky, and had a beautiful view. Casting a last glance to such a nice country, I wasn’t waving at a sea of clouds…

Curieusement, le temps était dégagé, volant l’après-midi, vers l’Ouest, j’avais du pot, avec une super vue. Jetant un dernier regard à un si beau pays, je ne disais pas au revoir à une mer de nuages…

Leaving Czech Republic...

During my dreaded stop in Frankfurt, I was half expecting to crash into another plane, or somewhat get into an air traffic jam, after the mayhem from a week before, but no, just a cloudy weather over there, and that’s about it…

Pendant mon escale redoutée à Francfort, je m’attendais à moitié à m’écraser dans un autre avion, ou me faire coincer dans un genre de bouchon aérien, après le bordel de la semaine précédente, mais non, juste un temps nuageux, et c’est à peu près tout…

Frankfurt Airport

And soon enough, I was on my way again towards Mooseland. Flying westward around sunset is great. You really are racing against the sun, and can have golden and reddish colors for several hours…

Et bien vite, j’étais en bonne voie pour le Pays des Caribous, une fois de plus. Voler vers l’Ouest pendant le couchant c’est super. On fait vraiment la course contre le soleil, et on peut avoir des tons dorés et rouges pendant des heures…

Above the Atlantic

And even if I left Spring behind me, I was quickly reminded of where I was headed to…

Et même si je laissais le Printemps derrière moi, je fus bien vite rappelé de ce qui m’attendait…

Frost on the plane window

It came as quite a surprise, but even as we were flying over Newfoundland, it was still sunset. And from there, you don’t see any slush, just real nice snow…

Ça m’a pas mal surpris, mais même alors qu’on abordait Terre-Neuve, c’était encore le crépuscule. Et de là, on voit pas de la “sloche”, juste de la vraie belle neige…

Above Newfoundland

And just like when children look at clouds and imagine patterns and objects in there, I was playing the very same game with the snow and ice I was seeing above Québec…

Et tout comme les enfants qui regardent les nuages et imagines des motifs et des objets dedans, je jouais le même jeu avec la neige et la glace que je voyais au dessus du Québec…

Above Québec

It’s settled! When I grow up I want to be President of the World, and I will make planes go only so that they will give either long sunsets or long sunrises…

C’est décidé! Quand j’serai grand j’serai Président du Monde, et je ferai aller les avions dans le bon sens pour avoir de longs levers ou couchers de soleil…

4 thoughts on “Na Shledanou!

Insert nice comment here :) / Par ici les gentils commentaires :)

