Relative Emergencies / Urgences Relatives

After my life-sized experiment of “is my right arm stronger than the pavement?”, I kinda needed to get my arm checked. Well, it’s not that I really needed it, I just felt that it might be more sensible… Dr. CaSo, kind as always, was telling me that I could expect to be waiting for 5 hours before being treated…

Après mon expérience grandeur nature sur “mon bras droit est-il plus fort que le bitume?”, j’avais un peu besoin de faire examiner mon bras. Bon, c’est pas que j’en aie vraiment eu besoin, j’avais juste l’impression que ça serait peut-être plus sensé… Dr. CaSo, fidèle à elle-même, me disait que je pouvais m’attendre à 5 heures d’attente avant d’être traité…

The wound in itself, though impressive, was not the worst part. I had lost strength and mobility of my right arm. And the swelling. Those are the things that worried me and made me go try out my OHIP card. In Toronto, there are walk-in clinics where you can go, without an appointment, and be seen by a doctor. Wearing my belt as a sling, I went to the one closest to my home. After giving out my OHIP card, and filling out a long form, I was asked to patiently wait my turn. One hour later, a doctor was seeing me.

La blessure en elle-même, quoi qu’impressionnante, n’était pas le pire. J’avais perdu force et mobilité de mon bras droit. Et c’était enflé. Ce sont les trucs qui m’ont inquiété et m’ont fait aller essayer ma carte OHIP. À Toronto, il y a des cliniques sans rendez-vous, où vous pouvez être vu par un médecin. Portant ma ceinture en guise d’écharpe, je suis allé au plus proche de chez moi. Après avoir donné ma carte OHIP, et avoir rempli un long formulaire, on m’a demandé d’attendre patiemment mon tour. Une heure plus tard, un médecin me recevait.

After seeing my arm, he tried to make me move it in several direction, forcing pressure on it, and after making my wrist go *crack* very loudly, told me that I should go to the Emergencies at St Michael’s Hospital, because they didn’t have any X-ray machine. I don’t know what I was expecting. What exactly are clinics for, then? Treating people who get a cold? Nevermind, I just lost an hour and a half.

Après avoir vu mon bras, il a tenté de me le faire bouger dans plusieurs directions, exerçant une pression dessus, et après avoir fait faire un gros *crack* à mon poignet, me dit que je devrais aller aux urgences de St Michael, parce qu’ils n’ont pas de machine à rayons X. Je ne sais pas à quoi je m’attendais. Ça sert à quoi, alors, les cliniques? S’occuper des enrhumés? Bah, tant pis, j’ai seulement perdu une heure et demie.

Once I got at St Michael’s Hospital, I was received by the Sorting Hat Nurse, who after hearing my story, gave me a somewhat better sling, to withstand the wait and pain. She led me to the registering clerk, who asked me lots of questions again, to create my file, and then told me to “wait in the TV room”. Around me, sitting there, were many old people, and some dirty people. Litteraly. Giving me the impression of poverty rather than “I just forgot to shower today”. I’m not judging here. But it made me wonder whether or not there was some kind of universal health coverage in Ontario. Because had I not been working for more than 3 months in Ontario, I wouldn’t have my OHIP card with me. How does it work if people don’t have OHIP?

Une fois à l’Hôpital St Michael, je fus reçu par La ChoixPeauFirmière, qui après avoir entendu mon histoire, m’a donné une bandoulière un peu mieu, pour supporter attente et douleur. Elle m’amèna à l’enregistrement, où on m’a demandé plein de questions, encore, pour créer mon dossier, et ensuite me dit d'”attendre dans la salle TV”. Autour de moi, assis là, il y avait de nombreuses personnes âgées, et des gens sales. Littéralement. Me donnant une impression de pauvreté plutôt que “j’ai seulement oublié de me doucher aujourd’hui”. Je ne juge pas. Mais du coup je me demande s’il n’y a pas une espèce de couverture universelle en Ontario. Parce que si je n’avais psas travaillé plus de 3 mois en Ontario, je n’aurais pas eu de carte OHIP avec moi. Comment ça marche si les gens n’ont pas l’OHIP?

After an hour or so of wondering about poverty and welfare, I got called, and led to the X-Ray department’s waiting room. There, the Nurse Practitioner looked apalled at my wound, like everyone else, and asked me to tell my story again. She filed a X-Ray request for my elbow, and let me wait there. After 40 minutes of idle waiting, she paged the X-Ray people a second time, because “they often wait to have at least 2 people to X-Ray before coming, they don’t want to move for just one person”. I thought I was at the emergencies of the hospital. Was I mistaken?

Après une heure environ de réflexions sur la pauvreté et la sécu, je fus appelé, et emmené à la salle d’attente du département des radios. Là, l’infirmière-médecin eut l’air effarée devant ma blessure, comme tout le monde, et me demanda comment je m’étais fait ça. Elle enregistra une demande de radio pour mon coude, et me laisse attendre. Après 40 minutes d’attente à rien faire, elle bipa de nouveau les gens pour la Radio, parce qu’ “ils attendent souvent qu’il y ait 2 personnes ayant besoin d’une radio avant de venir, ils n’aiment pas se déplacer pour une seule personne”. Je croyais que c’était les urgences ici. On m’aurait menti?

After 50 minutes, I got my X-Ray done, and minutes later the Nurse Practitioner’s judgment, later on confirmed by a doctor, was that I had a minor fracture of the head of my radius. More commonly called “elbow fracture”. She didn’t consider it big enough for me to need a cast. So I would just have to keep the sling for a couple of days, and my bones were supposed to heal within a week or so. About the wound in itself, I was expecting disinfectant, or bandages, something… She prescribed me antibiotics, “to prevent infection”. I have to admit that I was pretty surprised by this one. Couldn’t she prevent infection just by… I don’t know… disinfecting the wound and bandaging it?

Après 50 minutes, j’ai eu ma radio de faite, et quelques minutes après le verdict de l’infirmière-médecin, confirmé plus tard par un docteur, était que j’avais une petite fracture de la tête de mon radius. Plus communément appelé “fracture du coude”. Elle ne la considèrait pas assez importante pour que j’aie besoin d’un platre. Donc j’aurais juste à garder la bandoulière pendant quelques jours, et mes os étaient censés guérir en une semaine environ. À propos de la blessure en elle-même, je m’attendais à du désinfectant, ou des bandages, quelque chose… Elle m’a prescrit des antibiotiques, “pour prévenir une infection”. Je dois admettre qu’elle m’a un peu surpris, celle-là. Ils pouvaient pas empêcher l’infection en faisant … je sais pas… désinfecter la plaie et la bander?

Anywaaaaays, I left the place without paying anything, thanks to the OHIP, covering everything. If I include the time wasted at the walk-in clinic, I spent something like 3 hours of waiting and getting things done. Everyone around me told me that I was lucky to have been treated so fast. I’m not complaining😉.

Quoiiiiiii qu’il en soit, je suis parti sans rien payer, grâce à l’OHIP, qui couvre tout. Si je compte le temps perdu à la clinique, j’ai passé environ 3 heures d’attente et de traitement. Tout le monde autour de moi me disent que j’ai eu de la chance d’avoir été traité si vite. Je me plains pas😉.

So, to sum things up:

  • Nothing to pay, everything being handled by the OHIP
  • relatively “short” waiting time.
  • I got a sling to treat an elbow fracture, and not a cast
  • I got prescribed antibiotics to prevent infection on my roadrash, instead of bandages and getting it disinfected on site.

Donc, en résumé :

  • Rien à payer, tout est pris en charge par l’OHIP.
  • temps d’attente relativement court
  • j’ai eu une bandoulière pour une fracture du coude, pas de plâtre
  • on m’a prescrit des antibiotiques pour prévenir l’infection pour mon gros steak, plutôt que des bandages et une désinféction sur place.

Well, at least it’s free…

Bah, au moins c’est gratuit…

4 thoughts on “Relative Emergencies / Urgences Relatives

  1. St Michaels…yeah there would be a lot of poor and dirty people there, it is airconditioned and comfortable in there….and yes, your wait time wasn’t bad, sad to say…and clinics are just for colds, if you think you might need any sort of test or xray, don’t bother.

    I am surprised they didn’t scrub and bandage it, but from what I have heard about the process of cleaning road rash, you may be happier with the anti-biotics…I heard medieval things about scrub brushes and raw bleeding wounds.

    *gag*

    I imagine there would have been at least some moaning in there, and more likely a fair amount of shrieking.

    Like

  2. Oreneta, if people just have colds, they don’t need anything from a clinic! What’s the point? If you have a cold, take some tissues, some rest, and cover up, it’ll be enough. Or so I heard when I was little😉

    I told the lady I cleaned it afterwards, myself, perhaps that’s why… wait. Do you think they’d put salt on the bleeding wound, “to desinfect”?😉.

    From that experience, my trust in the Canadian Health System didn’t start very high:/

    Like

  3. La prochaine fois (enin je ne te le souhaîte pas!🙂 va directement aux Urgences du General Hospital sur University Avenue. En 1h30 J’avais vu infirmière, docteur, eu ma radio, verdict prescription et bye bye!
    Comme tu le dis, les cliniques, c’est pour les rhumes!🙂

    Like

Insert nice comment here :) / Par ici les gentils commentaires :)

