Cherry Blossoms / Cerisiers en Fleurs

Spring

I wrote the other day about spending a day in High Park to watch the Cherry Blossoms. And right when I published it, I saw on the High Park website that the cherry trees were in bloom.

J’ai écrit l’autre jour à propos de passer une journée à High Park pour regarder les Cerisiers en Fleurs. Et pile quand je l’ai publié, j’ai vu sur le site d’High Park que les cerisiers avaient fleuris.

On a nice and sunny Sunday afternoon, I was obviously not the only who had thought of going. Lots of families were gathered around there.

Un beau dimanche après-midi ensoleillé, je n’étais évidemment pas le seul à avoir pensé à y aller. Plein de familles étaient réunies ici.

)Around the Maple LeafYoshino Alley

No wonder the japanese enjoy it so much. It announces the return of Spring, but there is this strange feeling emanating from the blooming trees… Something peaceful. Who wouldn’t lie down under a tree and watch at those little guys until nightfall?

Pas étonnant que les japonais l’aiment tant que ça. Ça annonce le retour du Printemps, mais il y a cette drôle de sensation qui émane des arbres qui s’épanouissent… Quelque chose de paisible. Qui ne s’allongerait pas sous un arbre pour regarder ces p’tits machins jusqu’à la tombée de la nuit?

Just stay underneath...

But Spring isn’t just about trees, is it? Leaving the cherry trees for a while, it was all the usual fauna that was coming back to life as well. Next to Grenadier Pond, I was drawn by a strange song… Frogs, apparently😉

Mais le Printemps n’est pas seulement à propos des arbres, pas vrai? Abandonnant les cerisiers un moment, c’est toute la faune habituelle qui revenait aussi à la vie. Proche du Grenadier Pond, je fus attiré par une étrange chanson… des Grenouilles, vraisemblablement😉

frogs!

In the meantime, two cormorans were drying their wings together in Grenadier Pond…

Pendant ce temps, deux cormorans se séchaient les ailes ensemble à Grenadier Pond…

Both of them drying their wings

… while colourful ducks were right under my nose!

… tandis que des canards colorés étaient pile sous mon nez!

Ducks

Speaking of ducks, I’ve always been fascinated by all those great shots that capture the motion, in a still image… And I was patient lucky enough to get my chance🙂

En parlant de canards, j’ai toujours été fasciné par tous ces grands clichés qui capturent le mouvement, dans une image fixe… Et j’ai eu assez de patience pot pour avoir ma chance🙂

Soaring duck

This could have been the perfect afternoon stroll, were it not for a small incident that happened. The reason why I had to write this small post.

Ça aurait pu être une parfaite ballade d’après-midi, s’il n’y avait pas eu ce petit incident. La raison pour laquelle j’ai dû écrire ce petit billet.

Rollerblading from my home, along the lakeshore, until High Park, I was perfectly fine. Once in High Park, I have to go downhill, and it’s a pretty steep slope. I go down, full brakes. Suddenly, a twig under my brake, I take on speed and fall. Pretty nasty slide. I seem to have fallen mostly on my upper right side, which is why I am kinda incapacitated from the right arm at the moment. I managed to take a picture (after cleaning the wound), but didn’t want to impose it on everyone in here. I learned since then that “when my forearm is swollen like that, something is probably broken”. If you can bear the sight of exposed flesh and open wounds, click here to see the picture. In french slang, it’s called a “steak”.

En rollers depuis chez moi, le long du lac, jusqu’à High Park, j’étais tout à fait bien. Une fois à High Park, je dois me prendre une descente, avec une pente assez forte. Je descends, freinant à fond. D’un coup, une brindille sous le frein, je prends de la vitesse et tombe. Méchant vautrage. Il semblerait que j’aie surtout atterri sur mon côté supérieur droit, ce qui explique pourquoi je suis un brin infirme du bras droit, là. J’ai réussi à prendre une photo (après avoir nettoyé la plaie), mais ne voulais pas l’imposer à tout le monde ici. J’ai appris depuis que “quand mon avant-bras est enflé comme ça, y a sûrement un truc de pété”. Si vous pouvez supporter la vue de la chair et de blessures ouvertes, cliquez ici pour voir la photo. C’est ce qu’on appelle un “steak”.

4 thoughts on “Cherry Blossoms / Cerisiers en Fleurs

  1. In English slang that would be roadrash sometimes (more rarely) meat.

    Ouch.

    Did you see any turtles? There are lots in the pond as well.

    Like

Insert nice comment here :) / Par ici les gentils commentaires :)

