Better than google translate / Meilleur que la traduction google.

J-Town's aisle.

Last Saturday, Dr. CaSo thought I would still remember my japanese lessons and would be able to help her find the ingredients she needed in J-Town, a Japanese mall a little bit outside of Toronto…

Samedi dernier, Dr. CaSo pensait que je me souviendrais encore de mes cours de japonais et que je pourrais l’aider à trouver les ingrédients dont elle avait besoin à J-Town, un centre commercial japonais un peu en dehors de Toronto…

… Little did she know that because of an obvious lack of practice, I forgot almost all my japanese:/

… Elle était loin de se douter qu’en raison d’un manque évident d’exercice, j’avais oublié quasiment tout mon japonais:/

Well, and fortunately for us, some products had an english, and an almost french translation… Please meet…. *drumming noises*… the “Flavour very spicy chips”,

Ben, et heureusement pour nous, quelques produits avaient une traduction en anglais, et presque en français… Môdames Môdemoiselles zet Môssieurs… *roulements de tambours*… les “Saveur trés épicé chips”,

"flavour very spicy"?

and the “lesser of salt” soy sauce!

et la sauce de soja “moindre du sel”!

lesser of the salt?

But the one that amazed me most was the pork flavoured… GRANDFATHERS!

Mais celle qui m’a le plus épaté c’était… les GRAND-PÈRES au porc!

Wanna eat some pork grandfathers?

Mwah ah ah ah ah ah ah ah ah ah! Later on, I discovered that apparently, in Québec French, they translated “dumplings” by “grand-pères” (lit. grandfathers), so I guess this one is not a mistake… but I’d be more than happy to get the origins of the word from some Québec people😉

Bwah ah ah ah ah ah ah ah ah ah! Plus tard, j’ai découvert qu’apparemment, en québécois, ils traduisent “dumplings” (boulettes de viandes, ou raviolis chinois) par “grand-pères”, donc je suppose que celle-ci n’est pas une boulette… mais je serais plus que ravi d’obtenir l’origine du mot de la part de québécois(es)😉

8 thoughts on “Better than google translate / Meilleur que la traduction google.

  1. Orenata, that’s how they solved the retirement plans crisis. By recycling the grandfathers! Note for self: do not retire in Canada😉.

    Apparently it’s still a wrong translation, grandfathers are “dumplings in maple syrup”🙂

    Like

  2. des grand-père au sirop d’érable? Ha ben shit ! Faut ben être québécois pour être aussi habitant ! Mouahahahahahahah !! Mes ancêtres continuent de me surprendre🙂 LOL

    (Je sens que je vais en insulter plus d’un avec mon “habitant” ! LOL GO HABS GO !! … hé oui … ça part de là ! LOL)

    Like

Insert nice comment here :) / Par ici les gentils commentaires :)

