I’ve got Steel Wood! / J’ai du bois en acier!

As you all already know, Canada has two official languages. The ones I use to write this blog. As a result, very often, when you buy something it has both a french and english version on the box, and instruction set. And depending on the product, sometimes, you can see whether it’s a product from the english speaking part of Canada where a Québec translation has been added, or the other way round. Usually, you see that on typos.

Comme vous le savez tous déjà, le Canada a deux langues officielles. Celles que j’utilise pour écrire ce blog. Du coup, très souvent, quand vous achetez quelque chose, il y a à la fois une version française et anglaise sur la boîte et sur le manuel. Et selon le produit, des fois, vous pouvez voir si c’est un produit de la partie anglophone du Canada où une traduction du Québec a été rajoutée, ou l’inverse. En général, ça se voit aux fautes de frappes.

Since I didn’t want to have to bring back from France presents that would take too much space in my luggage last Christmas, I didn’t ask Santa to give me any bowls for the kitchen, even though I needed it. As a result, I ended up buying some, because I only have a salad bowl, and considering my interest for baking, it’s really not enough :p.

Vu que je ne voulais pas ramener de cadeaux de France qui prennent trop de place dans mes bagages au Noël dernier, je n’ai pas demandé au Père Noël de saladiers pour la cuisine, même si j’en avais besoin. Du coup, j’ai fini par en acheter quelques uns, car je n’ai qu’un seul saladier, et vu mon interêt pour la cuisine, ce n’est vraiment pas assez :p.

So I went to Canadian Tire (because I have to fit in), and found an affordable set of mixing bowls, with lids on it! (Convenient when you prepare something that has to rest in the fridge for a while).

Donc je suis allé chez Canadian Tire (parce que je dois m’intégrer), et ai trouvé un ensemble de saladiers à pas cher, avec des couvercles! (Pratique quand vous préparez quelque chose qui doit reposer au frigo un moment).

english-french translation error

But when I looked at the french translation on the other side of the box, it was written:

Mais quand j’ai regardé à la traduction française de l’autre côté de la boîte, c’était marqué :

english-french translation error

The translation for “bowl” is “bol”. Whereas the translation for “bois” is either “wood” or “antlers”. So I find it pretty funny to actually own “stainless steel wood” (or “stainless steel antlers”)😀. That’s how I know that it was in english originally, translated in french for the sake of Canada’s duality. It’s just a typo, I know, but everyone needs at least one laugh per day, eh?

La traduction de “bowl” c’est “bol”. Tandis que la traduction pour “bois” c’est soit “wood” (le bois des arbres) ou “antlers” (les bois d’un caribou :p) . Donc je trouve ça plutôt marrant de me retrouver avec des “bois en acier inoxydable”😀. C’est comme ça que je sais que c’était en anglais à l’originie, traduit en français pour le bien de la dualité canadienne. C’est juste une faute de frappe, je sais, mais tout le monde a besoin de rire au moins une fois par jour, hein?

6 thoughts on “I’ve got Steel Wood! / J’ai du bois en acier!

  1. This has nothing to do with your post, but in later March, or early April, when the days get above freezing and the nights are below, you should go and see some sugaring off…uber Canadian, and fun too… go to the Kortright (sp?) center North of TO, it is a lovely walk in the woods, and they sugar off in both the old fashioned way, and the new, then you can have some fairly dreadful pancakes with some very delicious syrup…just an idea…here’s the url for the center, it is very cool…http://www.kortright.org/, and the page, http://www.kortright.org/

    If you go, take some pictures, I miss doing that.

    Like

  2. Ah oui elle est pas mal celle là!
    Et Orenta a raison, si ce n’est pas encore fait, il faut que tu vives l’expérience de la “cabane à sucre” (et tu manges de tout hein, en finissant avec la tire d’érable!).

    Like

Insert nice comment here :) / Par ici les gentils commentaires :)

