Vyšehrad

Bedřich Smetana is one of the two Czech composers history remembers, alongside with Dvořák. He is famous for his cycle of 6 Symphonic Poems called “Má Vlast” (My country), one of them being Vltava (The Moldau) that I showed you two days ago. The first symphonic poem of the cycle, though, is called “Vyšehrad“, and since I’m going to show it to you today, you might as well have the music in the background while you read😉.

Bedřich Smetana est l’un des deux compositeurs tchèques dont l’histoire se souvient, avec Dvořák. Il est connu pour son cycle de 9 poèmes symphoniques intitulés “Má Vlast” (Mon pays), l’un d’entre eux étant Vltava (La Moldau) que je vous ai montrée il y a deux jours. Le premier poème symphonique du cycle, en revanche, s’appelle “Vyšehrad“, et puisque je vais vous le montrer aujourd’hui, autant avoir la musique en fond pendant que vous lisez😉

The Vyšehrad is where another castle of the bohemian princes used to be, back in the 10th century. Just like any other castle, one can then expect a great view from its outer walls… Among the old rooftops around me, one caught my attention. It’s Karlov, a former monastery founded by Charles IV, now hosting the State Regional Archives and Criminal History Museum.

Le Vyšehrad est là où un autre château des princes de Bohême se trouvait, au 10è siècle. Comme tout autre château, on peut s’attendre à une superbe vue depuis son enceinte extérieure… Au milieu des toits anciens autour de moi, il y en a un qui a retenu mon attention. C’est Karlov, un ancien monastère fondé par Charles IV, maintenant le siège des Archives Régionales d’État et du Musée d’Histoire Criminelle.

Karlov

And of course, still from the outer walls, you can oversee the Vltava (Moldau) river, with Prague Castle in the distance, and the many bridges crossing the river (Apologies for the hazy St Vitus Cathedral, the weather denied me the right to a clear blue sky ;))

Et bien sûr, toujours depuis l’enceinte extérieure, on peut voir le fleuve Vltava (Moldau), avec le château de Prague au loin, et les nombreux ponts traversant le fleuve (Désolé pour la Cathédrale St Guy dans les brumes, le temps m’a refusé le droit à un ciel bleu dégagé ;))

Prague from the VyšehradPrague Bridges and Prague CastleSt Vitus Cathedral, in the distance...

But nowadays, nothing is left from the 10th century castle. So come on in, and let’s see what we have now…

Mais de nos jours, rien ne subsiste du château du 10è siècle. Donc entrez, et voyons voir ce qu’il y a maintenant…

Entrance to the Vyšehrad, Prague

There is a cemetery in there, where many important personalities of the Czech nation have been buried since the 19th century. The weather being all wintery and everything, though not so tough as the Canadian winter, I decided to warm myself up inside Saint Peter and Paul church (another neo-gothic one).

Il y a un cimetière là-dedans, où nombre de personnages importants de la nation tchèque ont été enterrés depuis le 19è siècle. Le temps étant bien hivernal et tout, quoique pas si pire comparé à l’hiver canadien, j’ai décidé de me réchauffer dans l’église des Saints Pierre et Paul (encore une néo-gothique).

St Peter and Paul Church, Vyšehrad

Once again, the decorations and fixtures were beautiful. I kinda miss the lack of such decorations in many French churches and Cathedral, especially the ones from the northern half of France, where time, revolutions, world wars and pollution have faded the paintings, damaged the statues and tainted the walls…

Une fois de plus, les décorations et l’aménagement étaient magnifiques. Ça me manque un peu, l’absence de décorations du genre dans nombre d’églises et cathédrales françaises, surtout celles de la moitié Nord de la France, où le temps, les révolutions, les Guerres Mondiales et la pollution ont décoloré les peintures, abîmé les statues et terni les murs…

Inside St Peter and Paul Church, VyšehradInside St Peter and Paul Church, Vyšehrad

As usual, I was taking pictures without a flash, knowing too well how those evil artificial lights can damage the delicate pigments used in these old paintings, but soon enough an angry old lady ran slowly (we’re in a church, after all) towards me and told me something in Czech I didn’t understand… although I recognized two words, “ne” and “fotky”, which probably meant pictures were forbidden, so I mumbled a sheepish “ano, rozumím, je mi líto” (yes, I understand, I’m sorry), and tucked my camera away…

Comme d’habitude, je prenais des photos sans flash, ne sachant que trop comment ces lumières artificielles diaboliques peuvent abîmer les pigments délicats utilisés dans ces vieilles peintures, mais bien vite une petite vieille en colère a couru lentement (on est dans une église après tout) vers moi et me dit en tchèque quelque chose que je n’ai pas compris… quoique j’ai reconnu deux mots, “ne” et “fotky”, ce qui voulait sûrement dire que les photos sont interdites, donc j’ai marmonné un “ano, rozumím, je mi líto” (oui, je comprends, je suis désolé) pas fier, et ai rangé mon appareil…

5 thoughts on “Vyšehrad

  1. Oreneta, she probably was here for free. I don’t think you still can provide employment to the elderly. That’s what retirement is all about.🙂

    Like

  2. Circé, c’est grâce à la mamie qui veille au grain! Je pense que l’église en elle-même n’est pas trop ancienne, non plus…

    Like

Insert nice comment here :) / Par ici les gentils commentaires :)

